Average Revenue Per User (ARPU) or Average Revenue Per Customer (ARPC) is an essential metric to understand your customers. Average Revenue Per Customer will help you identify trends against different time periods and segments of customers. To fully understand ARPC, it is best to calculate it for all of your customer segments so any disparity between types of customers can be identified and addressed.
The dream is to have a high ARPC, and if a subscription business, one that increases over time. If your ARPC is too low it could mean you aren’t targeting the right customer or your product is too cheap, so you need to find a way to extract more value (revenue) from your product — whether it is different value add on products, or targeting more valuable customers.
($) Total revenue generated of the TimePeriod /(#) Customers during the same period = ($) Average Revenue Per Customer
ARPC is calculated by dividing the total revenue generated during a specific time period (e.g. week, month, quarter) by the total number of customers during that same time. It is important to note that you only want to include active customers in this calculation, hence why we call it Average Revenue Per Customer vs. Average Revenue Per User.
For example, if you generated $20,000 last month and had 4000 customers during that month, your
Average Revenue Per Customer would be $5.00
$200 / 4000 = $5.00 ARPU
Connect to Peel which will automate the calculation of your Average Revenue Per Customer for the past 30 days.
Every Friday morning via Slack, Peel will send you a report of:
🌟Plus a deep dive analysis of your revenue, revenue growth rate, and customer retention.🌟